AviLove

By avilover

Pseudacris regilla

I shouldn't even say how long I've been sitting in front of my laptop trying to decide which picture to blip today. Some days are rife with debate...well, sometimes we must bite the bullet and just post something already.

This one goes to the amphibians again today. The nice thing about living and working with a group of people who know you're an obsessed naturalist is that whenever anybody finds something cool, they come get you. I was harvesting snap peas this morning when Vanessa came running up and asked me if I'd seen a green frog on the farm yet. I said, "no...." and she lit up and exclaimed she had found one and I should come quick! Like giddy school girls we ran back to where she had placed it in a compost bin for safe keeping.

It turned out to be a Northern Pacific Tree Frog. It is sometimes classified as its own species, and sometimes as one of three subspecies of Pacific Tree Frog. These medium-sized green or brown frogs are the most common type of frog on the west coast of North America. Their numbers appear to be healthy, which is saying something in a world of inexplicable and rapidly declining frog populations. For example, another amphibious denizen of Humboldt County, the Red-Legged Frog, has experienced a drastic decline within its natural habitat.

So tired! Must to bed before I fall asleep on my keyboard and conclude this entry with a bout of jfklsfhdgsvcnnn....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.