a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Misty February Morn

"Wan February with weeping cheer,
Whose cold hand guides the youngling year
Down misty roads of mire and rime,
Before thy pale and fitful face
The shrill wind shifts the clouds apace
Through skies the morning scarce may climb.
Thine eyes are thick with heavy tears,
But lit with hopes that light the year's."


Swinburne -  A Year's Carols: February

An easy choice of subject for me today.

When I looked out, bleary eyed, from the kitchen this morning as I prepared my breakfast and it started to get light, I could see that it was going to be a foggy morning.  I took a number of different shots, but in the end, this landscape was my favourite.

I was bleary eyed because I had sneaked down to the pub the night before with my friend Pete for last orders.  A quick drink (or three) at closing time on a Thursday night with friends is a bit of a tradition in the village, although I often tend to give it a miss when I am in training for cycling as I need my sleep.  Gone are the days when I could get to bed late and still feel fresh in the morning.  The slightly jaded feeling this morning was however more than offset by the conversation and laughter of the night before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.