a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Waiting for a train

Derelict Thursday

"Wonder why its getting cold at night
I must be getting old
Looks like I'm going to have to wait a while
What the hell, I'm bored
What's that there on the railway line
Looks like my old brown shoe
It ain't mine mister, how's that for laughs
Not even how'd you do"

Flash 'n The Pan - Waiting for a train

I think you might have rather a long wait in this particular case.  It is certainly derelict and possibly will never move again.  

It is, of course, Derelict Thursday (again), and the challenge originally sponsored by the much missed SarumStroller is once again on. Since I started having a go at these challenges, Thursdays seem to come around with such speed.  No sooner have I posted a Thursday blip than I have to start looking for something for next week.  But I'm not complaining, it really helps to make me look at subject material in a different way.

It poured with rain today, and had actually just started raining when I took this shot.  I took several others but at some stage  managed to  get rain on the lens and on balance this is the best of the usable shots.  It was nice to get something in daylight for a change this week!

The song lyric is from an obscure mid 80's hit that I first heard on the radio in Paris, when visiting my sister (Happy_Janwen). She was working as an au pair at the time to improve her french and kindly allowed her brother to stay on the floor of her tiny one bed apartment.  I really loved exploring Paris, and Janet was able to introduce me to the Paris that I would never otherwise have discovered.  This track was played all the time on the radio at the time and takes me back every time I hear it.

... and I've just realised this is my 50th consecutive blip.  Not much in comparison with many of you, but a small milestone for me all the same :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.