Cold Dawn: Tree Shadows in the Snow

When I caught the bus on Friday morning, it was minus seven degrees F, maybe our coldest morning so far. I was dressed in quite a few layers, as I anticipated being outdoors for a bit, even if only briefly, with my camera.

The sunrise that I get to see at this time of morning is sometimes pretty spectacular, and as I was riding on the bus watching the light, I snapped this photo out the bus window. The bus windows one morning earlier this week were so frosty that I couldn't see out; on this day, however, I was grateful to find a few clear spots.

You have seen this farm lane once before, back in November, dressed in autumn finery. This is a slightly different angle, but it's the same scene. In the distance, the light is just starting to illuminate the far ridge. And in the near foreground, the sunrise has set some wonderful tree shadows dancing in the snow.

The soundtrack: Andy Gibb, Shadow Dancing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.