Dancersend

By Dancersend

Swing riots brewing

With our visitors gone (safely home in Cape Town) it was time for catching up with lots of jobs, including mowing some patches of emerging scrub at the nature reserve. Soon after I arrived with the trusty BCS mower the sheep sent a delegation to check things out. Perhaps I was a little insensitive to be carrying out this work when they are getting a bit short of tasty grass and herbs. Anyway, they looked quite hostile and I was sure they were plotting to try to wreck my mower. I think that one in the middle, looking back at the mower, must be the notorious Captain Swing. I realised later that she had instructed the rest of the mob to chew stumps in strategic places into sharp points, as after an hour's mowing I had to retire with a puncture. So, round 1 to the mob of agricultural labourers...but I vow they will not halt the march of conservation technology!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.