Puzzle poo

I had a work party with my volunteer team at the nature reserve today. It was a lovely morning and we just managed to finish off the scrub clearance task I had planned before the rain swept up the valley. I could have posted a photograph of the great bonfire we had, or yet another shot of the sheep, but this is much more interesting. It is a nice piece of mammal dung I spotted as I arrived at the reserve. It had been neatly deposited on top of a freshly excavated mole hill and this positioning and the general shape make it almost certainly fox poo. It has the pale appearance that normally means it has been eating bones and fur (rather than berries or earthworms), but looking closely there seems to be lots of badger hair - typically stiff, but not much black in it. Did this fox get lucky and come across a poorly or dead badger cub? Of course, I should have collected it to examine more carefully, but I will probably be able to find it again. So sorry if you were having your tea!!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.