Waiting to be Spirited Away

I've taken a much needed break from the computer today. It's been a beautiful day here, but I've resisted going out for a bike ride. With people all around me being sick at the moment, I started to feel symptoms myself yesterday, the start of a sore throat and a very slight sniffle, so I've been cautious and kept myself suitably dosed up with Vitamin C and other natural immunity boosting remedies. So far it seems to be working.

The Ilkley Film Festival is now in full swing although the schedule of more alternative titles has been dented by the film bus not passing its MOT test! That's a real shame. The great thing about these kind of events is getting the chance to watch things you wouldn't normally otherwise see. This morning I was introduced for the first time to Japanese anime and the work of Hayao Miyazaki in the shape of Spirited Away. I can fully understand why it's considered to be such a classic of its genre. I was entranced by the whole film, feeling slightly ashamed that I'd not seen any of his work before. I loved the way there was always such a strong connection between the personal and the universal. There was so much to see. You could watch it again and again, and see new little details every time, as well as discovering new symbolism. It works on so many levels. And there is something about the hand drawing of it all that just made it so much more authentic than the digitally rendered animations we get now. I love those, but this was somehow more intimate. The whole thing really spoke to me. It was something of a revelation to be honest.

Popped out this afternoon for a walk on the moor and managed to catch the one shower of the day. It threw down hail rather than rain so at least I didn't get wet! Off out now with some friends to watch Boyhood (again). My tip for an Oscar for best director certainly, and hopefully best film too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.