In The Bubble

I love the way some people lose themselves completely on the way to work, cocooned in their own little bubble of electronic words and music. I wouldn't like to see him stand much closer to the edge of the platform though! This is a little homage to platform five at Shipley station. Some of your may be surprised that the station here at this little town has as many as five platforms. It's an unusual setup, but that's another story.

I've been losing myself in my own little bubble on the morning commute this winter, lost to words with a pen and a notebook. I think this half a million words written to blip (although I'm now beginning to doubt the veracity of that statistic) has provided for some kind of flow. I'm now faced with giving up that sacred 25 minutes every day because I feel the call of the bike. It's light in the mornings, my computers are all set up, and there are no excuses left. Will I have the discipline to get the notebook out when surrounded by all the distractions of home? I'd like to think so.

I cannot believe how quickly this week has passed. It's a little frightening. Despite the tiredness, I couldn't resist setting the alarm to try to catch the climax of England's World Cup against New Zealand. I needn't have bothered of course. It was long all over. It's just as well as I've always had a sneaky regard for the black caps. Brendon McCullum is a God. So is Daniel Vettori in a much less assuming way. I'd absolutely love to see them win this tournament. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.