Simply Me

By Suze981

21 Again

It's my Mum's birthday on Tuesday. She's going down to see Jane, Tony and Olivia on her birthday, so Ian and I decided to take her out for a spot of fine dining today.

We went to the Plumed Horse in Leith. A Michelin starred restaurant, home to award winning chef Tony Borthwick. I've been before, and I thought Mum and Ian would like Tony's more relaxed style. We've been to a few Michelin starred restaurants before, including a 2 starred one, and some are a little stuffy.

I had Veloute of Jerusalem Artichoke with Slow Poached Organic Hen's Egg, Breast of Guinea Fowl with Kale & Pancetta, Root Vegetables, Truffle Sauce, and a Salted Caramel Tart with Beurre Noisette Ice Cream. Delicious!

We'd finished our meal and the waiter brought a plate of Petits Fours with Happy Birthday written in chocolate for Mum. He congratulated her on her 21st - the wee charmer!

I had also made Mum a dark chocolate and raspberry birthday cake. We only had room for a tiny sliver though - which just means there's more for tomorrow!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.