Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Comma butterfly - Polygonia c-album



The sky once again cleared by 11am, revealing another very nice, warm day with lots of potential. That potential was not realized unfortunately, but I did manage this quick snap early on in the session.

It looked like a twisted dry leaf to the untrained eye, but experience has taught me to look closer at everything that is not quite right. True, I waste a lot of time, zooming in on bits of fallen twigs, hoping for a caterpillar, dried leaves, hoping for butterflies, even following the drone of distant motorbikes on the M53, hoping for a big fat bumblebee!

Unfortunately, I was only permitted one shot before the blip monster whipped her away. I would have liked to get down level, to get all the wing in focus, also flash would have worked for this little gem. Well, at least I got one preliminary shot off. It is always a good idea to sshoot a few on your approach rather than getting that perfect position before shooting. Even if it is no good for blip, you have at least something to identify the critter.

I first spotted the comma when I first arrived in the UK, about a month ago and this was the first time I have seen one since. Unfortunately, I did not have my camera with me the first time and used it purely for practice at getting close. It is a stunning butterfly when the wings are open, with its strangely sculptured profile. I am hoping to present a better shot soon, as I had to murder this image with PS to get something remotely presentable.

Today's Indonesian difference discussion is etiquette. By this I mean holding the door, queuing nicely, letting people out in traffic, even letting the person behind you with two items go before you when you have a trolley full and the list of etiquette examples is comprehensive and endless. This isn't just an Indonesian difference or an Asian difference, in my limited experience it pretty much applies to most countries to different degrees outside of UK and USA.

In Indonesia, all the above examples are non-existent, in fact, I have just stared at the ceiling for five minutes just trying to think of one - nada. This does not mean that the people are inconsiderate or rude, in fact I find Indonesian people amongst the friendliest and most helpful people that I have come across in my travels. It simply is not a part of Indonesian culture like it is in UK and USA.

If you try to let a car out of a side road, he won't move because it is not expected. If you hold the door for someone, they will walk through without a thank you, probably wondering what you are trying to do. To flash your lights when driving means I am coming through, so watch out!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.