Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Old Debris, Kowhai Stream

It's been drizzling up here in the forest again today, so figuring 
i was already going to get a little wet whilst walking the dogs anyway, I thought we'd head upstream once more to as far as I can go with the dogs in tow before clambering over trees and boulders get tricky.

The rain on the peaks behind has meant that there's a good flow after moving away from the wide streambed fan at Blandswood; the further upstream you go the forest seems to close in on you until it's finally above you, on top of rocky gorge sides of hewn granite and greywacke.

On the way back home, there's a section I've nicknamed 'The Boneyard'; in this small stretch there once was a small walk bridge over the Kowhai Stream, which by the looks of its pile placement was surrounded by trees that once stood on the creek margins. The flood of 1975 washed this bridge away (the surge was caused by debris damming behind it, snapping the trees like twigs so that now only stark twisted stumps remain. On a monochrome day like today they are even more stark. If I had a different lens with me today, they would have been my blip, but stuck with the wide angle on the X-E1 means that they'll wait their turn.

Instead with the 12mm fixed to the camera today, I decided on another piece of debris. By the looks of the vegetation depending on it, I reckon this branch, of what looks like ribbonwood, has been there for quite some time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.