Red Alert For Hail, Brighton

A short break down to Brighton today, coming back Sunday. As the afternoon slumped towards dusk we were walking along the seafront when the wind picked up and horizontal hail propelled itself down from the threatening, dark clouds. It made our faces sting and the shared umbrella fly around like an unruly kite. Within five minutes it was gone and the glorious sunset resumed. On the horizon, though, you could still see the storm clouds scudding almost vertically across the sky.
I don't know where the elemental need comes from to be near the sea but every now and  again I almost feel it in my gut, a strange kind of hunger for an uninterrupted horizon, the sound and motion of waves, and a strong punch of ozone and salt assaulting my senses - almost as if it's decluttering my brain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.