Stormwatch

The storms are coming, today as I walked there was rain and sleet with a little occasional clear sky. Not today any warmth just cold biting wind a prelude of what is to come.  Dougie's lyrics drifted round my mind haunting, beautiful, apt in so many ways....


 The waves crash in and the tide pulls out 
It's an angry sea but there is no doubt 
That the lighthouse will keep shining in the night 
To warn the lonely sailor 

The lightning strikes and the wind cuts cold 
Through the sailor's bones, to the sailor's soul 
'Till there's nothing left that he can hold 
Except the roaring ocean 

But I am ready for the storm, yes oh ready I'm 
I'm ready for the storm, I'm ready for the storm 

Give me mercy for my dreams, 'cause every confrontaion 
Seems to tell me what it really means to be a lonely sailor 
But when the sky begins to clear and the sun it melts away my fear 
I cry a silent, weary tear at those that mean to love me 

And I am ready for the storm, yes oh ready I'm 
I'm ready for the storm, I'm ready for the storm 

Distance it is no real friend, and time will take its time 
And you will find that in the end it brings you near a lonely sailor 
But when you take me by your side, you love me warm, you love me 
And I should've realized I had no reason to be frightened 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.