Breaking the Chain

I returned to the river as I have so very often. I have clambered over and round this concrete block many many times never really paying it much attention however today I shot a few shots and walked on. The brightness of the colour caught my eye, the beauty of something that is in itself destroying the thing it enjoys.

As I wandered I thought of the yards, thought of the memories of going with my grandfather to see the launch of the ships built there. I remember as a small boy being hoisted high above the sea of humanity that gathered to watch these man made sea monsters slip into their natural habitat. I remember the noise of the vast coils of drag chains as they accelerated down the slip to slow the entry of the ship into the river. They seemed to dance with showers of rust dust rising in swirling mist into the sky. I can close my eyes and see these pictures, smell the smell of the yards, the sweat, the tobacco, the diesel fumes of the waiting tugs...

Once fitted out these ships left our little river heading to work in all corners of the globe, like errant children never looking back and for so many never to return again. As I thought of this it crossed my mind how this process had impacted on my own family, my gran's brother had travelled with ferries to Vancouver, they were there to shuttle between Vancouver Island and the mainland. Jim was a young, handsome man, a commissioning engineer sailing for a few months adventure, in a land that seemed so far away, so alien, so inviting. Jim did his work and commissioned the ferry but unlike the rest of the commissioning crew he had made a life changing decision, he was staying and he did.

As a child growing up "Uncle Jim" was a mythical figure a man who had made his way in the world who broke the chains, as I thought of this a piece of a lyric popped into my mind and it says it all, Jim made and enjoyed a wonderful life in that wonderful country, I remember travelling as a young child through Canada meeting his extended family there and being accepted unconditionally by them. Jim is sadly gone now but I remember him very fondly, the enigmatic man in the promised land. I hope you like the shot and leave you with the lyric I remembered and its how I imagine Jim felt as he sailed from the Clyde knowing he was not destined to return...

No, this will be your legacy
This will be your destiny
Yesterday did not define you
No, this will be your legacy
This will be your meant to be
I can break the chains that bind you

And just like the seasons change
Winter into spring
You're brining new life to your family tree now

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.