madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Day 1

Could not believe how long it took to get ready to leave - and how many bags I had! Mostly food and booze! Running late but so were the people I was going with, so having dropped off the spare key for the chicken looker after, and picking up Angelic R ( every photo I take of her has an ethereal glow to it, she is tall and willowy and has auburn hair!) and all her bags, we finally set off! 
We met the others standing on the harbour wall at Gorran Haven ( where I discovered I had left my camera card in the laptop - good job I now carry a spare!) and then set off for a walk along the South West Coast Path to Vault Beach. Chatted to Bearded man about photography along the way, ( he also takes photographs and has shown interest in blipfoto,) and everyone else was on the beach chatting by the time we caught up with them. I immediately spotted a very large, rotting fish, and presumed thats why they had stopped at this point - but they had just been chatting and had not even seen it! This occurred many times over the next few days - non blippers - what can I say?!!
Vault beach had the impressive arrangement of  stones - no idea when they had been created but they were surreal and wonderful! What a great start to the holiday! 
Having chosen our rooms ( only 1 left by the time I got there and debate as to where the 2 women arriving later would sleep! But homeopath J said not to worry as we would all be swapping later! This brought much laughter and the men commented how they were going to have a long night as there was more women than men! I said this had not been made clear to me when I agreed to come! Never did find out what she had meant to say! ) we went to the local beach, over the fields, me lagging behind as usual. Saw them all leaving one  field and waving to me as I entered it! When I got to the o[pp[osite side I could see no way out - 2 gates, one covered by brambles, one with chains saying no entry! I wandered up and down the edge of the field, then decided there was nothing for it but to go under the gate! Camera went first, held aloft as I wriggled commando style under, halfway through I realised a car had stopped in the lane and both the driver and his dog were watching me with a look of complete astonishment! Once I was through he waved me over., I thought maybe he was the owner of the field and was about to have a go at me -  but he simply asked if I was ok  and what on earth I was up to! Having explained he then offered me a lift!! Since I had no idea where he or I was going I declined! By the time I reached the beach he was there about to walk his dog! He was pleased I had caught up with my friends and said to them it was extraordinary to have seen me and that I looked very adept and he wished he'd had his camera!!!
The rest of the group explored the beach a little and I wandered over to the fishermen to ask what they were after - bass, but the water was "too weedy" - thinking this was some technical term re currents I asked him to explain - he looked at me and said "seaweed"!!! But he still posed for a photo even though he obviously thought I was simple!
So, back to eat a variety of curries and make the dips, over a conversation about evolution and religion! I then popped out to take star photos - dismal fail, more research needed! People began going to bed at 11 - but Bearded man, Musical man, Party organiser and me stayed up till 3, entertained by Bearded mans stories of the strange people he had met over the years! Damn fine start to the holiday! Day 2 to follow!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.