Deus in Machina

I meant to join Mancunians celebrating Chinese New Year but the red paper lanterns strung in the trees were sodden and collapsing, the performers were performing only to their very best friends and sleet and wind were eating at my cheeks. So I ducked into Manchester Art Gallery, just in time to see the last day of ‘The Sensory War’ exhibition, exploring ‘how artists have communicated the impact of military conflict on the body, mind, environment and human senses between 1914 and 2014’. A thoughtful and disturbing exhibition which helped me look with fresh eyes at a few images I have seen enough times to become inured. It is good to look from a different angle sometimes.

Edit - just corrected (I hope) my Latin grammar. If anyone knows better please tell me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.