Patchwork

We were invited to a friend’s ’60s-fancy-dress 60th birthday party. I started amassing old clothes a week or so ago then shortly before we went I spent a few minutes looking for a long necklace I made back then out of melon seeds and apple pips (if you're my vintage that might provoke an indulgent smile). I was amazed to find it, uneaten by mites or mice and, with a bit of rethreading on the journey, wearable as part of my hippy regression.

Most people played the game and bandanas made from ties, snappy black and white dresses, billowing sleeves, mini-skirts, embroidered scarves and brocade waistcoats with CND badges mingled over the quiche and the cheesecake.

A retired technology teacher brought his life-sized Dalek - complete with plunger and Morris Minor lights - and an ex-head of humanities in hotpants climbed in to drive it and use the voice-distorter to warn us of our imminent extinction.

Then we grew up and went home.

Fun evening. Happy birthday, J!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.