fs2012

By FrankS

Gargoyle

I read this article in the Guardian Weekend Magazine the other day about the advantages of underachievement. Based on a Taoist philosophy, it seems to make perfectly good sense. Why stress yourselves trying to achieve three things when you could do two things perfectly well and keep your wellbeing. I think this is the problem with today's (UK) government, constantly telling us we have to work harder for longer hours and less pay and achieve more; no wonder we're slipping further and further into depression and recession.

So today I set out to just achieve two things; post my daily blog and blip photo and finally finish off and submit Tom's student finance application (this time without the SLC deciding to arbitrarily delete it just 'cos they didn't like it).

I then had time to sit in the garden and doze for half an hour in the glorious warmth (making sure I stayed in the shade, having sat out earlier in the sun to have my lunch).

Job done (except I can't decide which of the photos I took today to publish, so I'll be interested to see the final blip).

Yes, underachievement, I think everyone should strive to achieve this goal, you'll feel much better for it.

Reference: Guardian Article

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.