Ancient Building

It’s only 6 days till we fly to Australia. I haven’t started packing, I’ve yet to go out and buy suntan lotions and toiletries and I’ve got a pile of ironing to do. I was grateful for the Mono Monday challenge which provided me with the perfect displacement activity. The topic is ancient buildings so I’ve got to (simply got to!!) drive across the city to find the oldest building in Milton Keynes for my blip. 

Bradwell Abbey is the site and remains of a medieval Benedictine Priory and is a Scheduled Ancient Monument (no.19062). Nationally it is significant because it contains the greater part of the medieval precinct of a priory, a relatively unusual survival, with a rare standing building - a dedicated pilgrimage chapel with a scheme of stunning contemporary wall paintings. 

The priory was first established in 1154 (Eat your heart out Aussies) so it definitely fits the bill of ‘ancient’ . It was a lovely afternoon and I was looking forward to taking shots of the little pilgrimage chapel. When I got there the Priory was covered in scaffolding and the little chapel had a white plastic box covering its roof and the top half of the walls. It also had 6 ft high fencing around the bottom half of it. The best I could do was to get this shot of the apology by Milton Keynes Council for ruining my blip and the shot I was looking forward to presenting in my blip journal.

All tasks referred to above remain undone!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.