Old Survivor, Tattered Skies

Bright sunshine once again. Most of the day I was busy with work and a rather challenging day it was. But I got home in time to get out on the bicycles with HL, who had a well deserved day at home now that she has started on a four day week.
Just a quick forty five minute airing today, over to Hanworth and round by Thurgarton on the way back. The combination of a keen wind and a bright sun falling low in the sky created some dramatic cloudscapes, flying like tattered rags on the breeze.
This old survivor of an oak tree stands by the roadside just out of Hanworth. It looks to me like it has probably been battered by disease or lightning at some stage and died back, only to shoot forth again. Ivy has gained quite a foothold on it and it could be vulnerable in the winter gales. 
I love these old oaks, the roadsides in north Norfolk are widely populated with them. I have a powerful memory of them, over twenty years ago now; driving out from London and arriving here in twilight or pitch dark night, when I could sense their silent presence, I knew we had arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.