Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Feeding

The summer warmth continues and provides more opportunities for butterfly spotting.  It was less than a year ago that I decided to pay more attention to butterflies, to try to get pictures of the different species when I could and through that to be be a bit more confident about distinguishing one kind from another.

The warm spell in February brought the first ones out this year, and for a while it was just the Small Tortoiseshell and the Peacocks that were about.  Then we had a fleeting glimpse of a Brimstone, a photogenic Comma and a few indeterminate whites before it went quiet for a couple of months with the return of the cool weather. At the weekend we saw out first Orange Tips and yesterday a Holly Blue.  Today one of the indeterminate whites was kind enough to pause while feeding on the campus allotment.  Although the whites are common, I found them the trickiest of all to photograph last year, so this is probably my best one yet.  I'm guessing that this is a Small White, but I'm sure the blip butterfly experts will put me right before too long.

I think I managed to photograph about thirteen species last year, let's see how many 2012 will bring.


feeding
in the sunshine
white butterfly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.