It's A Chill Wind

Lots of Homestead admin to deal with today. Fingers crossed, looks like we're moving towards a sale. :)

I went to Fishers Green looking for signs of spring. It was so cold that I missed a little egret shot because my trigger finger for my "science rifle" was dead.

This Chinook helicopter flew over. My son used to love them and had a little cast model of one. I always thought the wheels looked too tiny. I also thought it was named after a wind.

I love the naming of vehicles after winds and was musing on posting here about this. The Maseratis Ghibli and Bora are named after winds, yet the Merak, which I thought was dubbed in honour of a wind, was actually named after a star from the Great Bear constellation.

Chinook is a type of foehn wind, it's the warm downslope wind in the Rocky mountains, also known as the "snow eater" named after a tribe of Native Americans. The helicopter got its name from this tribe too, in common with lots of other 'copters, the Iroquois, Blackhawk, Kiowa, Apache, Comanche, Cayuse, Tarhe, Chickasaw, Chocotan, Sioux and Shawnee. Since 1969 the manufacturers have been based in Ft. Sill in Oklahoma, the heart of the Native American reservations, which explains their choice of names.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.