Times Of My Life

By CarolB

Yes, We Have No Bananas ! (Well, actually .....)

You may remember me moaning about 'Too many tatties' a few weeks ago, when I was lamenting G's habit of shopping or cooking for The Walton's, rather than just the two of us. 

He did it again last week, when I came home one night to find he had made soup in the pan I bought to make the marmalade.  I say "pan": I mean "vat". It is the biggest pan I have ever seen, and even when only half full, it made enough marmalade to fill 19 jars!

I asked him what on earth he had made so much soup for, and he said he thought we could freeze the extra.  And so we might have been able to, except for the fact that the freezer is absolutely stappit fu' with stuff.  Absolutely no room for even a packet of frozen peas, never mind buckets of soup!

I had to start a soup kitchen, dishing it into bowls, and distributing it to friends and relatives (whether or not they wanted it!).

So this weekend it was bananas.  He came home on Friday with an enormous bunch of ripe ones, thinking it would save me shopping for fruit for our packed lunches this week.  I explained that I always buy 6 bananas at a time, in various shades of green.  This means that on the first day we eat the ripest, and the by the next day another two have ripened, and by the third day the last pair are just right. 

If you leave a banana to day four it is too late - they are too ripe and mushy to put in the lunchbox without them decomposing in front of your very eyes. 

Hence, today a huge bunch of already blackening bananas.  So, I've got the recipe book out and I'm looking for a very simple and quick recipe for a Banana Loaf / Cake / Scones. 

Problem is, by the time I got home tonight I couldn't be bothered cooking, never mind baking, so for tea I have had a banana on toast (with brown sugar and cinnamon - yum), followed by banana with yoghurt for pudding! 

All that potassium is bound to be good for me.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.