The thought keeps recurring.

I keep thinking this ... But can't remember if I ever Blipped it.

Thinks ..." Does the size of a Country's currency bear any relationship to its value/worth?

On the left - A 10P piece from the days when they were still 10 new pence.
It's the same size as the old "2 Bob bit" (Two shillings)
I remember when I could go round to "Bouch's" Shop when it was still safe to have a Cigarette machine on the wall outside. I would insert the princely sum of 2 Bob and take home a pack of 10 "fags" AND change - for Dad.
Next, is what happened after "they" changed the "New" for "Ten".
Next comes a $0.25 to give "them over there" an idea of scale.


Then we see what they did to the 5P piece.
I haven't smoked, now, for at least 2, if not 3 years: and not bought a packet for more than 5 before that (Being on "Rollies")
I was gob-smacked recently to discover that
"A pack of 20 cigarettes rose from an average of £4.51 for the most popular brands in 2003 to £7.98 last year – 77 per cent of which was tax. The most recent budget added another 28 pence to the price. A pack of 20 Marlboro costs around £8.74 at current prices. 
28 Jul 2014
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
Update - 15th jan 2021
Twelve  shillin' per Fag?
"WHAT?!?!?
"Marlboro gold Superkings 20 pack

£ 11.85 - £0.59/each"

I remember when Dad made about 5 Quid for a 5.5day week and Mam managed to pay the rent, ALL the bills and feed 5 of us on that £5.

Nostalgia rules OK?

Thing is ... Are we REALLY so much better off?

P.S. I thought about it too late to show exactly the same effect with the 50P piece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.