Potted, or Pot-bound?

She who must be Obeyed goes through a book every day or two, compared to my ultra slow reading rate.
I have a bad habit of reading every damthing as if it's a textbook, and no faster than I could read aloud to you.
I remember one memorable occasion when, while reading a "Cowboy", the thought crossed my mind.
"That's ONE TOO MANY!" and I was forced back 20 or so pages for a re-read to satisfy my feeling that "HE" had shot, and killed, the same Baddy TWICE. He was after "X" number of Baddies for having their wicked way with his Wife. He, eventually killed X+1 and the Proof-Reader evidently hadn't spotted it.
However ... Back to the gardener. As a result of Gaffer's reading rate we generally visit the library not less than once per week. It turns out that they were celebrating "30 Years of M.C. Beaton." Whoever S/he is.
Seems it's yet another Author I haven't heard of: but what struck me was that they'd managed to illustrate a few of the few titles. "Love, Lies ...." is obvious but I didn't spot the Gardener. Must look again next visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.