Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Viking boat

H and I have a tradition here at the island to send off a driftwood viking boat into the sunset for someone we know and love who has recently died.   I'm sorry I couldn't find a single colorful flower to put on it...   This one is for J, my cousin,  my Mom's twin sister's son who was born just a few months before me.  We had some good thoughts and lots of memories about growing up together  and he is the reason H and I know each other as they were roommates in medical school in Chicago.  

We are leaving to go back to the city early in the morning so have spent the day picking up.   Sort of.    I had this idea that nothing has happened for the last week plus, but made a list and we actually did get a few things done (but I'll spare you..:-)) ...H has the lurgy worse than me at this point so things are a bit slow.   We did manage a sauna (altho it didn't exactly purge that virus out of me before...) and there were wonderful mergansers and my favorite, oyster catchers,  around the point, but unfortunately I didn't have the big lens on the camera so not happy with the photos.   So... ..you get the boat tonight.  Sometimes we can see the little candle light far into the dark night, but I can't see it now...  RIP, J. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.