"Sun is Shining!"

“Sun is shining!” As I heard Her Happygoodmorning Voice, I could still feel the resonance of a strange, in some way very clear dream. It’s that electrifying effect of a heavy dream after the unrest of sleeplesness, a painful stiffness in the neck, a moist forehead.

I felt relief, saved out of that nightmarish entrapment within an obsessive “reality”. Afterwards it could be told as a personal annecdote. Typical for that highly ambitious student of philosophy I once was. A deadly-funny parable about a lifelong passion for searching the true self which was never published.

The dream story went about a thrilling reunion of all scolars, teachers and students of the Interuniversity Institute in Dubrovnik. A reunion unconsciously desired by me to take place sometime. I have studied there in the Seventies before the Balkan Wars destroyed many hopes and illusions. I did learn there from life, praxis and philosophers there: Markovic, Vajda, Habermas, Taylor, Ricoeur, Axelos, Dastur, Dallmayr. They were all present as I had a horrifying meeting with an old friend R.

She turned into a big mystery bird on my shoulder, just as we were reuniting with our friend Waldenfels. Who asked me “if I had finally broken out through the closed door…” Then at dinner I swallowed a glas of intoxicating potion and overhastily bit a cracker with anchovis. What was going to happen to this vegan philosopher?

But before my happy reunion could turn into stupefaction and death, I was saved. No impossible reunions any more. A new day announced with enthousiasm by your loved and loving companion is inifinitely better than any old dream of reuniting with your past. Especially when “Sun is shining”!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.