Baby Hummingbird On Board

I think he actually hatched while I was in the park today. I didn't get any really good sharp photos but I had to post this one anyhow. It's be best one I got. She was snugged on her nest when I got there. I showed her to some other folks and then walked around the park taking photos. When I got back the mother was off the nest. I couldn't see anything inside but I waited to get her as she flew back on. I thought it was a snack break. But when she got back, she stuck her beak into the nest and I took some photos. When I looked at them I could see she was feeding her baby. He was so tiny that I couldn't see him by just looking. I needed the telephoto to see him. I could see his eyes are still closed and he has no down or feathers. I really think he just hatched. I am SO excited that I was there and got to see him. If you look in the large version you can just see his tiny beak around hers as she feeds him. So amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.