Scaly-breasted Munias

Never seen before in Oman! These pretty little, Sparrow sized birds have the very unattractive name of 'Scaly-breasted Munias' but can also be called the rather better & prettier 'Spice Finches' I saw them in the park drinking from a little pool and thought they looked different. It was only in 'Lightroom' when I was digitally lightening them from the shadow of the tree that I realised I didn't recognise them and they were not in the book 'Birds of Oman' I then had to send the photo to the Oman Bird Committee to show them & get a positive identification. They are native to the more tropical parts of Asia and may have been blown here. They are beautifully marked with what looks like little hearts of their chests & reddish brown wing & back feathers! Quite a capture!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.