Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Rangitata River at Clarke Flat

It's a moody evening out there, with low cloud and drizzle hanging around the hills. With this in mind, initially I thought about heading up to The Big Tree - I find cloudy days are ideal for photographing the forest - but after having a big day in the garden mowing and tree trimming, as well as fitting in a bit of painting in the dining room, I was a bit too tired to tackle the slopes and steps.

Instead, I decided to drive down to Clarke Flat alongside the Rangitata. The river here is wide and reasonably fast flowing, and when the conditions are right it's a popular with fishermen, no doubt keen to hook a salmon or three. 

Fishing or not, it's a scenic spot and the power of the river is very apparent. I imagine on a beautiful summer's evening with a view to the distant mountains upstream it's even prettier. I think I'll have to come back...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.