Westminster and the Thames

Normally this time of year, we land at Heathrow in the dark, but we were a couple of hours late due to a diversion in Shannon, Ireland on the way home.  We had an ill passenger but thankfully had a doctor on board (a professor of medicine from John Hopkins in Maryland, no less!).  Together with our on-call doctors on the ground, it was decided to divert and get this woman to the hospital.  I think she will be OK but I am glad that they made that decision.  

I've never landed in Shannon before and it was completely dark - though I suppose I should have taken a picture of the Are Lingus plane at the gate next to ours - that would have been an appropriate blip for my hour on Irish soil!  

Thankfully, it was a beautiful sunny morning in London so I got a few nice shots over the city.  In this one you can see the Thames, the houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the now iconic London Eye.  

It's a good thing I got this shot because the rest of the day (after a brief nap) was way too busy for taking any more pictures.  I met with the kitchen designer and went over the plans.  I am really happy with them, although there may be some tweaking here and there and I may source the appliances elsewhere to save some money.  I am hoping to get the kitchen done in July/August so there is plenty of time to make adjustments.  The meeting today took 4 hours!!  I was exhausted!  Then a mad dash home to get packed and ready for my big adventure tomorrow!  I'm going travelling!!  (proper travelling, not work travelling!)

I miss Dolly though - I left her at the dog-sitters since my time at home was so short.  She would NOT have liked to have seen me packing again right away!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.