Ned with snowflake

White on Grey


snowflake bedazzled

and why not ?

even squirrels 

seek jewels from 

mother nature

to decorate, to dazzle 

grey day fur 

to kiss whiskered faces

with snowy, yes, showy

sixfold symmetry





I got up to a dark gray morning, one facing the threat of more snow and continued cold. Several squirrels were digging and breakfasting on snowbank imbedded seeds outside the back window. Raspberry was no where to be seen, then I saw her tucked all cozy in my desk chair(my great grandfather's ancient House of Representatives chair from the Maine Senate) in the loft. She's certainly enjoying reclaiming our loft after Max's passing last month. It was his Daytime Kingdom during the 4 year cat separation. She looked rather sleepy, and a bit smug, but sprang into action on the loft edge when she spied this squirrel. I grabbed my Nikon with the 300mm and managed to take some shots of Ned  through the window as well. I remember him from last summer, a member of the Split Right Ear Club. Fyra the Chipmunk is a member as well and the resident rabbit. The question is, who does their body piercing? 

I sat at my iMac and smiled when I saw the perfect snowflake resting on the bridge of the squirrel's nose! The first gift of many unexpected pleasures to start my Thursday even before my cup of strong black coffee.

For the Record,
This day came in dark and gray, no windchill, but still very cold. A small snowfall is expected yet again today. The commuter ferry can't run again because of ice in the harbor, conditions are still tough all over. Hopefully the commuter rail will be recovered by next week not be back to full service until March 30th!!!

All hands healing


2015 Boston Snowpocalypse, From Above

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.