Heirlooms

Those who bother reading this will know that a couple of weeks ago I booked an appointment to see a medical practitioner. Today my turn came around. In the waiting room I saw this colourful toy. I was a little surprised to see it as, to the best of my knowledge, it has been there for as long as I've been going to this surgery - and that's more than 20 years. I don't know where it came from but they should use this to advertise the longevity of their products.

The outcome of the consultation is that we agreed that I suffer from gout and that it's time for medical intervention. I have the tablets but can't start taking them for a couple of weeks. I have to go back a couple of weeks after that for a blood test to check that the dose is correct. The doctor also took my blood-pressure and sucked her teeth in the way that mechanics do. When I have the blood test I'll also be fitted with a blood-pressure monitor which I'll wear for 24 hours to find out whether I'm dead or not. I'm reasonably certain that I'm not dead but there are branches of philosophy dedicated to the idea that everyone else is a zombie so I'll go with this monitor and let you know either way.

Cal and I are planning an adventure for tomorrow so that's something else to look forward to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.