SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Stepping Westward

Above Wastwater

I was torn as to which blip to post today as I had one that better suited Wordsworth's poem below, but Wastwater was looking magnificent. I may change it because the end of the walk was a wonderful green path walking towards the sea and the late sun but the magic was more in the moment.

Stepping Westward - William Wordsworth

 "What, you are stepping westward?"--"Yea."
          --'Twould be a 'wildish' destiny,
          If we, who thus together roam
          In a strange Land, and far from home,
          Were in this place the guests of Chance:
          Yet who would stop, or fear to advance,
          Though home or shelter he had none,
          With such a sky to lead him on?

          The dewy ground was dark and cold;
          Behind, all gloomy to behold;
          And stepping westward seemed to be                          
          A kind of 'heavenly' destiny:
          I liked the greeting; 'twas a sound
          Of something without place or bound;
          And seemed to give me spiritual right
          To travel through that region bright.

          The voice was soft, and she who spake
          Was walking by her native lake:
          The salutation had to me
          The very sound of courtesy:
          Its power was felt; and while my eye                        
          Was fixed upon the glowing Sky,
          The echo of the voice enwrought
          A human sweetness with the thought
          Of travelling through the world that lay
          Before me in my endless way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.