View from a tram

I had my first ever ride in an Edinburgh tram today, from Haymarket to St Andrews Sq.

The tram was comfortable, quiet and quick, but...

There are electronic screens telling you that trams are running every 8-10 minutes. Why on earth don't they tell you when the next one is due? Even bus stops do that now. If it takes me 20 minutes to walk, I'd wait a couple of minutes for a tram, but not 10. Without accurate info, I'll walk.

They have very fancy ticket machines, but they don't give change! WTF is that about?

The only reason I actually got on the tram was because there was a friendly ticket inspector at the tram stop. He told me the tram would only be a couple of minutes and offered me change for the ticket. He didn't have change himself, but he told me to put my £2 in the machine, cancel my transaction and it would return my £2 in change and I could use it to buy a ticket. It did and I did!

Oh yes, and their twitter customer service only
operates between 9.30 and 16.30. Really?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.