Leiflife

By Leiflife

Transformed by Fire

The memorial dog bowl is out of the kiln and will soon be on its way to the woman who requested it. Sometimes it seems that I went through fire to complete the bowl. I must postpone what I was working on, return to the Shearwater glazes and the classical form. The newly healed arm must be stressed by the amount of incising, and I must set aside thoughts of the sculpture waiting and possibly drying out under plastic.

The first bowl was done in memory of my little dog, Star...while this one was done specifically for an unknown woman who had also lost a beloved pet. I was touched by her need to replace her bowl, yet the doing was less personal for me this time around. It was not an easy time, yet the desire to create something she might treasure...to give my all to the project has been rewarding. I learn as I work, and learning is one of the things that makes life worthwhile.

The last blip I did of the bowl showed the interior...with the obvious little dog angel connecting with her grieving companion. It was pre-fired so the colors bear little resemblance to the fired bowl's deepened hues. This blip is a detail from the exterior of the bowl: pelicans, waves, "stars". Just for a change... The fired glazes are very similar, so you can see how complete the transformation is.

I am happy with the subtle changes from the original bowl, and I pray that the woman who first lost her beloved dog - and then lost the bowl she purchased to memorialize the dog - will be gladdened by my second effort. With the bowl goes my affinity for all of those who have lost beloved pet companions whose unfailing and unconditional affections have graced our lives. A bowl can be replaced. That dear animal never can be...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.