The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Rapid loss

We met our tour guide at the dock and started our kayaking trip back down river to Nong Khiaw. The first hour or two were very easy and we stopped at another small village for lunch. We bought some cold drinks and then gave the last bits to two girls who were watching us. They went from being shy to giggling and forcing burps repeatedly. Maybe I should submit this photo to Coca Cola.

Shortly after we got back on the river, we hit some large rapids and I capsized, losing my flip flops, hoodie, sunglasses and GoPro. There was no chance of getting them back. Then at the next rapids Maura and Angela also capsized and had trouble getting back in with the strong current. The guide was useless and had to be shouted at to even begin helping us. Maura fell out a second time and it was all very stressful.

I've kayaked many many times and have experience in rapids but at no point during the multiple discussions planning the trip with the tour company did they mention rapids and even on the day, the guide never said there was any chance of falling in. Angela had even told them she had zero experience in a kayak. If we'd known we certainly wouldn't have had items loose in the kayak and we may not have even done it full stop.

When we got back to town we obviously complained and the tour manager agreed with everything we said and was even honest about the fact people fall in all the time. I just wish they'd told me before so I could have avoided losing my GoPro!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.