Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Muffy and Me

Dear Diary,

Time for another flash from the past for me.  I was about 6 in this photograph and that is our dear little dog Muffy.  I'm not sure what breed she was, probably a mix but I loved her so much. 

I've been an animal lover my whole life.  I was wondering recently how we become who we are.  What was it in the past that sets us on a certain path?  Somehow, I always had this deep affinity with animals.

When I first moved to my home in Maine 20 years ago I went across the street to visit my new neighbors.  Their dog was barking very loudly and the owner said that it was being protective and wouldn't come near me but in a matter of moments I was able to calm her down and she was curled up at my feet quite content.  The owners said they had never seen her do that before.

I think we all have gifts that we acquire in our youth and we carry those with us all our lives.  Our circumstances change,  we grow and evolve over time but there is something deep inside we hold onto...something that never changes.  For me it is this connection to the furred and feathered friends in my life and I've always been thankful for that.

Lots of people talk to animals.... Not very many listen, though.... That's the problem.
Benjamin Hoff,
The Tao of Pooh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.