Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Deep Ancestry

Dear Diary,

I've been very involved with my genealogy the past several months and decided to take the leap way, way, way into the past by having my DNA done.  I took part in the National Geographic genome project that seeks to plot the deep ancestry of as many people as possible to see the patterns of human journeys from our origins in west Africa 150,000 years ago.

This is the infographic of my maternal line...haplogroup I.  I didn't even know what a haplogroup was!  It is the particular branch of the tree that I belong to.

There were no big surprises with my DNA results...49% northern European and closest to British ancestry.  All my research has shown me that but it was so interesting to see this ancient journey of my deep, deep ancestry.  Science is amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.