enough

Today I learned that Andy Coffey, who is the community manager of Blipfoto has posted 12 wedding pictures connected to “The Big Moment” on a website called BoredPanda.com and from there these pictures can now be seen on many more websites. This comes along with a general access to the journals of the owners of the pictures.  This without their knowledge or consent. Check this out if you like!

After the complaint of Damnonii last monday Mr. Coffey admits that Bored Panda is :”one of the social media channels that we (!!) use in order to share great content from Blip (alongside the likes of Twitter, Facebook and Google+).”

Nobody asked my consent to put my pictures on one of these social pages. I don’t want my pictures to appear in a polaroid frame. I don’t want to be put into search engines like google and many others as it has happened now.


They attach a credit to the Blipper who created the content. But that should only happen after they have asked for permission to publish my pictures elsewhere from the Blipfoto site, or maybe, at best, their own Polaroidblipfoto Facebook site. Nowhere else is ok with me and as we all can see now, our pictures, are out there on more websites than we know. Just google your name and blip name. It might be a nice extra and free advertisement for professional photographers like John G., Maxellis or Farishta. But I don’t need that and don’t want it.

I don’t trust Blip Central anymore. Too many business interests involved. 
I hope that I can keep some of you as friends maybe on Facebook. Just let me know your facebook name and I can try to be your friend there.

You might later remember me as the most naive Blipper out in Polaroidblipland. I have to blame myself for this childlike belief that promises people make will be kept. 

Of course I will go to Savannah as it is so much fun to meet fellow photographers. 
I am aware of the fact that my personal journal pictures are not the star pictures that other photographers posted  so there is probably no need to erase all of my pics. I will find other sites to publish or get a bit of public “shoulder patting”. 
I will make photo books myself. 
I am a lifelong member and can always visit you if I want to. 


It was a steep learning curve here and I am very, very grateful for all the support, feedback, tips and hints that I got from you. I can only thank you very much for being my friend here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.