Northern Exposure

By Northern

Lasagna day

Dear Mum,
can I have your recipe for lasagna please?
Your student son
xx

Erh yes. Except I don't have one, I just make it up depending on what I fancy at the time or more usually what's in the fridge. So I said I'd work one out based on the most commonly featured ingredients of roasted red peppers and mushrooms.

Took me hours! I have renewed respect for anyone writing a recipe book. Of course it did also include some beginner cooking instructions specific to my son and his student kitchen e.g. 'Do you have a whisk, it's handy for getting any lumps out if your cheese sauce' but even without those it was a much bigger task than I thought it would be.

After all that, I thought I better try it out and make tea at the same time. I had to make a couple of revisions as usually I never measure anything, so had to rejig some of the quantities I'd given.

I hadn't intended it to be but the whole day ended up being about lasagna so really there was only one blip subject to be photographed. Son, if your looking at this, this is what it should look like when it's cooked... and, no that bit's not burnt. It's just well caramelised!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.