A Weekend Of Snowdrops.

Yesterday, when we were at the lodge, The Bro-in Law, kanyl , came to see us with a plantpot containing a couple of varieties of snowdrops. The reason for this was that I was letting him dig up a little clump I had growing of a slightly rarer variety than the ones in his collection. He's listened to me talking about them for years and it pleased me to let him have them.

This morning I went to the workshop to help that Best Mate finish making a couple of picture frames for my competition images. No time for him to have done them next week as he has a cabinet-making course running. I was a great help, working away with the sander. Eventually I turned it off to check which grit size he had told me to use. Yes, I had got it right, 180 grade "BUT", he said, "the rough side of the paper needs to be facing outwards, towards the wood!" 

With the frames sanded and oiled we gave Ash a walk down by the river where there were lots of clumps of snowdrops growing down the bank. The walk gave us a good appetite and I was treated to lunch at the nearby Little Chef. Lovely!

The afternoon was spent at Rheged, visiting a Homes & Gardens exhibition and taking another look at The Herdwick Sheep Photography display. Fabulous huge images of the Lake District farms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.