Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Welcoming March

Dear Diary,

What is the old adage?  "In like a lion and out like a lamb"?  Well, there was a light dusty of snow last night but hardly lion-like.  Still remains terribly cold so I won't be planting any time soon.   There is, however, a decided difference in the the air...I can smell the approach of spring.

I think one is more intimately connected to the seasons in the country.  I guess that's why I've always loved living in a rural landscape.  Visiting my cousins in the big city when I was little was such a treat though.  Being able to walk to the store was so much fun.  My dear sweet aunt would think of excuses why we had to get something for her and off we would go on another errand.

Their church was like a cathedral to me.  On the day my little cousin was baptized I wandered back into the church and somehow missed the ride back to my aunt's home.  Everyone thought I was with someone else.  At only seven years old I found myself on my own in that "big city" for the first time.  Strangely, I didn't panic.

Actually, the church was less than a mile from my aunt's home so, with the confidence of youth, I set out.  When they got back and discovered I wasn't with anyone they went out searching but somehow I evaded them all.  I eventually found my way back on my own and couldn't, for the life of me, understand their panicked response.

Of course, I understand it now but way back then I new I could do it.  I did it all the time in the country.  59 years ago and we still laugh about the time the little country cousin was left at the church!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.