Orchid

When we arrived home a week ago, my poinsettia had died. So I've replaced it with an orchid. Never had one before. The instructions tell me to discard it when it stops flowering. Hmm. We'll see. I shall probably try re-potting it when the time comes.

EDIT to add that I've asked my green-fingered sister for advice. This is what she says: Yes, hang on to your orchid; when it seems to have no more buds to open, dead-head it and let it rest for a while; then repot (not too big - it seems to flower best when a little bit restricted) in orchid compost (from Garden Centre);  if possible in a translucent pot because its roots use photosynthesis as well as its leaves.  You can buy them.  But it's not essential, as it has roots above the compost as well.  Water regularly but do not soak or leave standing in water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.