Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Fort Saumarez...

The forecast for today was good so I decided to get the bus to L'Eree and walk around to Vazon, taking photographs as I went. However, when I woke up this morning it was pouring with rain so I thought I'd have to do a quick rethink but it soon cleared so I set off for the bus and got caught in a heavy hail shower. But that also passed over quickly so I decided to go ahead. 

As soon as I got off the bus at L'Eree I realised that maybe I should have checked the weather forecast for wind speed and direction because I nearly got blown off my feet! But I decided to brave it and carry on. As soon as I rounded the first corner it was much more sheltered I'm happy to say.

The coast I was going to walk past along is not an area with beaches that people would visit because they are mostly rocky so I didn't particularly expect any interesting photographs but I was surprised when I got home and looked through them. I really found it difficult to choose one.

I finally decided on one of the first I took, of Fort Saumarez. Once I'd run it through the Nik Collection HDR it looked like an oil painting.

After Fort Saumarez I passed Le Trepied Dolman. I took a couple of photographs which you can see on Flickr here and here. There was also a fort next to it. I didn't take a note of the name and haven't found details online but the most interesting thing was that there were a couple of cannons pointing out to sea and when I took a photograph looking down the barrel it looked as if the cannon had shot the sky which exploded. You can see for yourself here.

I also liked my shots of Vazon and Grandes Rocques. I hope you like all the colour photographs that I have taken today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.