THERAP

End of a long day and walking back to the hotel after chilling at The Pub for a few after dinner beers.

This wall grafiti hidden off to a side alley sums up pretty well my love-hate affair with this special place.  When it is good... it is really good.  Then when it is bad... better to get on with everything else in life and leave it behind.  Yet it remains. 

A longing to belong in a higher League - those lucky ones who have been called to the high places and airy ledges...   how I wish to be part of that fraternal group.  I have cut my teeth slowly over the years, done some stupid stuff along the way too, but I am still here to talk about it.  Alas, I am not destined to be part of the special elite who have the right to walk among the cloud spirits...  other life obligations, my own self-imponed limitations, and god given abilities describe a different path.

What was so easy the day before was total trash the next day.  Physically I was ruined from the steep hike out from the glacier, flat light and snow stole my sight and skis no longer responded to their owner.  Time to get off the mountain!

This is the way the world endsThis is the way the world endsThis is the way the world endsNot with a bang but a whimper.T.S. Eliot    

See you next time Chamonix!!!  I know you will call me again to your airy heights for a little life therapy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.