Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Plean House

Woke up this morning to a blanket of snow - Monday's on / off attempts finally succeeding overnight. However, I resisted the temptation to go out and capture the experience for posterity, reckoning that I needed a bit of a rest after my hectic weekend. Not only that, but I needed to do a bit of a catch-up since I had hardly been at home for the previous three days and, snow or no snow, the computer demanded my presence for a couple of hours.

I have been taking part in the Tuesday walks of our local Ramblers group for the past few weeks and, although the walk planned for today looked enticing on paper, I wasn't convinced that it would proceed given the conditions overhead and underfoot. Even if it did go ahead, I convinced myself early on that it could go ahead without me on this occasion.

By early afternoon I had completed my essential bits & pieces and was ready to go out in search of my photo for the day. The snow that had been so thick in the morning had all but disappeared from the roads and paths, gardens and fields round about where I live, so I jumped in the car with the intention of going for a wee wander round Callendar Park in Falkirk. Got as far as Camelon and then decided to head up to Plean Country Park instead - I hadn't been there for a while.

I was surprised to see some snow still lying as I approached Larbert and there was also still quite a covering in Plean when I arrived. In the event, my walk in the park was a relatively short one as the paths were very muddy with melting snow and, away from the paths, there was still a lot of snow around. Took a few shots around the park and some of the derelict Plean House before another shower of sleet convinced me to call it a day and return home to the warmth of my house. Job done, though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.