New Toy

Today should have been another practice for tomorrow, but I spent so much time trimming hedges and cutting out the remains of ivy (massively overgrown from next door) that by the time I had had a shower I fell asleep - well at my age.
 
I blipped my hedge cutting last Wednesday and Friday, but what I did not mention was that there was a clump of trunks in the middle of the hedge that were so close together I could not get the bow saw nor the pruning saw in to cut through any of them completely.  Now Mrs W would not allow me to buy a chain saw, so I eventually got around to buying an oversized jigsaw – usually referred to as a reciprocating saw.  Thank you Mrs W – the new toy gets into places that a chain saw would not and is ten times as useful.  It made short work of trunks a good 120mm plus thick, and got close to the wall and under the fence cutting through ivy vines and roots some of them 60mm and more thick
 
The blip would have been better if I had not tried to straighten the bent blade to sharply and we would have had a curled end.  It was the short one (I do have another) but most of the work was done with a fast wood cutting blade meant for rough clearance of trees etc, but a bit to long for the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.