a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Bridge of Sighs

"Over bridge of sighs

To rest my eyes in shades of green

Under dreamin' spires

To Itchycoo Park, that's where I've been"

The Small Faces - "Itchycoo Park"

One of the things that I have found over my two months of blipping is that  after a while you notice things in passing and think that they would potentially make good subjects for a blip at some stage in the future.  Various challenges, Mono Monday and Derelict Thursday in particular have seen me wandering about parts of Bristol that I have travelled past but never stopped to explore.

Several weeks ago "Bridge" was a topic of Mono Monday, and too late for me to use,  I came across this suspension bridge over the River Avon.  The bridge is not far from St Phillips Causeway in Bristol.  It forms an apparently little used cycle track / footpath from Arnos Vale to St Phillips, via a small park.  Its a fairly forbidding place at night, not at all like the Small Faces Itchycoo Park of legend.

Given the subject material and composition this looked good in mono.  But in the end I couldn't bring myself to do without the yellow paintwork.  I decided to compromise and  to just retain the yellow.

Oh yes, it is another long exposure via tripod I am afraid.  Busy days in the office seem to be limiting my ability to wander around with camera in hand at lunchtime just at present.  Still, with the days lengthening, I suppose that I had better use up these opportunities for convenient (if cold) night shooting while they are available.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.