Sunrise at Westhaven

Early start to the day, with a run along the length of Ponsonby Road, and then to Westhaven for a run along the new Promenade. I got there shortly before official sunrise, although the clouds were such that the sun itself was not seen.

Instead, there were these wonderful colours in the sky, reflections in the water, made magical by the ripples, and all seen through the masts of yachts tied up at the Westhaven Marina.

The sky stayed like this for only a few minutes. At the other end of the Promenade I saw a very cocky Mynah bird, and managed to record that with a photo.

Later this morning (after I had filled in the forms and had the tests required for a new locum I start at then end of next week; not in Auckland), we drove out to Oratia to visit friends. They have somewhat more than a hectare of land, and are visited by many birds.

Seeing a flash of yellow (to my eyes) I took a number of photos as I slowly approached the tree. A couple are good enough to join the collection for the year as Nø 42; the European Greenfinch (an "abundant naturalised introduction"). Other birds seen and photographed were a silvereye, a kereru, and a hen quail with two chicks. The last was fairly distant so there is a lot of noise in the image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.